Old Things and Van Gough

3 weekends ago was field-trip -weekend.  On Friday we went to the Luberon (which you have already seen) and on Saturday my archeology class took a trip to Glanum and the city of Arles to look at old things.  You can see and educate yourself about the old things we saw below.  This past weekend I had another excursion to the city of Arles to look at pretty much the same stuff, so I decided to combine pictures from the 2.  If you’re wondering why some pictures are brilliantly sunny, while others look like the gloomiest day of your life, it’s because they were taken on two different days.  The pictures are organized by subject, not chronologically, so don’t get confused!

Arles is a really cool little city with a lot of history.  It’s quite pretty and you can see some of the Palette of Provence that I talked about in my last post as well.  Van Gogh also contributed to the fame of Arles by spending about a year here.  Glanum is a small town with spectacular Greek and Roman ruins, near Arles.  Don’t take my word for it though, check out the captions and pictures.

Leave a comment