The Palette of Provence

So 2 Fridays ago, my program here took us on an excursion into the heart of Provence, Le Luberon.  Our first stop was the village of Lourmarin, which besides being beautiful, is known for its 15th century chateau (castle).  We bought lunch at the market in Lourmarin, and then went to the village of Lacoste for a picnic on the spot where the castle of the Marquis de Sade used to stand.  In case you haven’t heard of him, he’s famous for being kind of insane, and for, as my professor said, being “fascinated with blood and backsides.”  Ever heard the word sadism?  It comes from him.

The last village we visited was Roussillon, where all the houses in the village are read and orange.  There is an old ocre quarry right next to the village where workers would extract the pigment from the soil to make paints and dyes.  The quarry is beautiful.  I’ve never seen such brilliant colors of soil. Everything is reds, oranges, yellows, and purples.  Even the trees in the quarry have an orange tint from the pigment.

I’m taking a myth and media of Provence class (Provence is the region of France where I’m studying) and almost everything I have learned about Provence, I saw during this excursion, from vineyards to olive tree groves, to the markets, to the colors.  Something my profesor has emphasized in class is the colors of Provence.  Oranges, yellows, light browns, reds, olive tree-green, tans, lavender, soft sky blue – these are the palette of Provence, with everything bathed in the warm, yellow sunlight.  Look for the colors in my pictures, and I think you’ll start to get a feel for what I’m talking about.

 

Leave a comment